1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hey Guest, is it this your first time on the forums?

Visit the Beginner's Box

Introduce yourself, read some of the ins and outs of the community, access to useful links and information.

Dismiss Notice

[590] Basic Forward Wall

Discussion in 'Building Critiques' started by Mellian-Quar-Xililix, Dec 24, 2012.

1. Mellian-Quar-Xililix

Mellian-Quar-Xililix Haxor

• added build number
    Many buildings i see on the forum either take so many resources it will be impracticable to build it during play when your under attack, or they so darn complicated you can't remember how to build it. So here is a quick forward fall that will slow down the enemy and take a low amount of resources.

1.jpg
    As a builder, I often build this very basic structure early on. Although it doesn't look like much, it serves the purpose of preventing a couple builderless knights from hopping over. Its cheap and can be easily modified to serve any purpose. Often I don't have to worry about bombs so early on, so I can leave the barrier one stone block wide. I usually build it in a position where I am not immediately under attack so I have at least 30 seconds or so of building this possibly temporary structure.

2.jpg

A mistake I see many new builders make to their structures is the lack of backwalls. Backwalls should come immediately, unless the knights are numerous enough to shield stack over the structure. In which case it is necessary to make the building higher to prevent that. Backwall also prevents the structure from collapsing if the doors are broken by knights.

One reason I leave the structure one stone block wide is for easy access for traps and spikes. Place a spike can prevent knights attempting to slash at your low doors easily and possibly kill stupid knights.