1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hey Guest, is it this your first time on the forums?

Visit the Beginner's Box

Introduce yourself, read some of the ins and outs of the community, access to useful links and information.

Dismiss Notice

A new engine

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Hapistorique, Oct 5, 2011.

1. Hapistorique

Hapistorique KAG Guard Tester

Posted by MM on his blog :

"I’ve been trying to code all the stuff we are planning for the next release which you can read here, like coins, workshops and movable ladders. Unfortunately it has become increasingly difficult for me to add stuff with the current engine. The problem with it is that it is a mash-up of 3 games I’ve been working on for the last 5 years and all of the KAG code is more like prototype code than proper game code. I did this because I wasn’t sure KAG would be a success so I just coded it really quickly without thinking much how that will affect the future.
    This method is great and I spent an entire game development lecture last month emphasizing this approach. So if you’re a game developer - please do prototype your games and don’t think much about what will happen later!
    However last Monday I just sat for an hour or so trying to add points scoring for digging resources and I couldn’t do it! I couldn’t figure out a way to do it without breaking the existing game elements or completely rewriting the game.
    So I decided to actually rewrite the KAG engine completely from scratch. Now this is an amazing opportunity for everyone so please take the time to read what benefits there will be from this change:
    1. New additions a lot faster
    2. Less bugs
    3. Much deeper gameplay mechanics
    1) New additions a lot faster