1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hey Guest, is it this your first time on the forums?

Visit the Beginner's Box

Introduce yourself, read some of the ins and outs of the community, access to useful links and information.

Dismiss Notice

Open appeal to THD and MM: Make Soldat open source!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Frank252, Jun 13, 2017.

Mods: BlueLuigi
  1. Frank252

Frank252 Catapult Fodder

Since the official Soldat forums are pretty dead and any THD employees and even less MM himself seem to go there anymore I am gonna write this down in here hoping that there is a at least a slight chance that it will catch any THD teams eyes, and dreaming of it being talked about in the THD studios:

I am a Soldat "veteran", I started playing it in like 2004 when I was 13 years old and it ended up making up a huge part of my teenage years as I spent playing it competitively until around 2009. After that I played it every now and then, but always stood active in the community until at least around 2012. And then I didn't play it for years, until a few days ago...

I came back to it only to find out in the forums that the last dev left (helloer) who's working on the game gave up on it and quits on it for good because the other developers were either not willing to cooperate anymore or not even willing to talk anymore. (see: https://forums.soldat.pl/index.php?topic=44931.0 )
    If we just leave it in this state, it will die for sure. It will be a game with no developers left, and with a dying community.
    This is not what you should let happen to this game, which used to have a community that was very big for its time for an indie game. This showed how much potential there was in this game. Unfortunately, I'm afraid pretty much all of this potential was wasted because, after a while, the game was pretty much abandoned by its developers after the enesce-era.