1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hey Guest, is it this your first time on the forums?

    Visit the Beginner's Box

    Introduce yourself, read some of the ins and outs of the community, access to useful links and information.

    Dismiss Notice

MapMakerMode 1.7

MapMaker

  1. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Monkey_Feats submitted a new resource:

    MapMakerMode - MapMaker

    Read more about this resource...
     
    Biurza, jimmyzoudcba, EhRa and 2 others like this.
  2. makmoud98

    makmoud98 You are already DEAD Forum Moderator Staff Alumni Tester

    Messages:
    586
    Needs a LOT of work, but so far so good. I really like the design
     
    PUNK123 likes this.
  3. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Releasing 1.0 tomorrow, It's mint now ;)
     
  4. Geti

    Geti Please avoid PMing me (poke a mod instead) THD Team Administrator Global Moderator

    Messages:
    3,730
    (I'll give this a proper look next week or potentially Friday)
     
  5. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Could someone please upload a vid of themselves using it. My uploads are dial up.
     
  6. Eluded

    Eluded Bison Rider

    Messages:
    128
    @Monkey_Feats this is really cool! Good work. Could I suggest:
    • a flood fill feature for filling in large areas (or maybe just a brush size option?) I just realized you can click and drag in a box to fill an area!
    • the interface should be permanently on so you don't have to keep hitting F to toggle it
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2017
  7. jimmyzoudcba

    jimmyzoudcba Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    274
    This is just absolutely amazing. Thank you @Monkey_Feats .
    ;D

    EDIT:
    Also, do AI not Ai plz ;)
    Also, knight AI and archer AI pictures are swapped. plz fix
     
  8. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    @Eluded I spent some time trying to get the menu to stay open, only too double back, cos it's a pain in the bum. One day though.
    @jimmyzoudcba On it ty.

    Collapsing is still on, it can be helpful and it can be annoying.
    Do we want collapsing on or off?
     
  9. Geti

    Geti Please avoid PMing me (poke a mod instead) THD Team Administrator Global Moderator

    Messages:
    3,730
    Re: Menus - for something this complicated/big you're probably better off coding your own menu using the render hooks and avoiding all the grid menu crap. I understand that's a daunting prospect though :)
     
  10. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Yeah I did actually do some constant GUI buttons but I wanted the menu look
     
  11. Geti

    Geti Please avoid PMing me (poke a mod instead) THD Team Administrator Global Moderator

    Messages:
    3,730
    The GUI files available for you to render with, you'll just need to figure out which parts of them to render yourself. There's 2 functions in the GUI namespace which can be used to draw whatever part of a texture you want:
    Code:
    void DrawIconDirect(const string &in textureFilename, Vec2f pos, Vec2f framePos, Vec2f frameDimension)
    void DrawIconDirect(const string &in textureFilename, Vec2f pos, Vec2f framePos, Vec2f frameDimension, f32 scale, int team_num, SColor color)
     
  12. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    @Geti yeah alright, it's the weekend now though ;)
    --- Double Post Merged, Jan 5, 2017, Original Post Date: Jan 4, 2017 ---
    What's wrong with the grid menu stuff anyway? works fine other than closing randomly sometimes.
    Also, what's the deal with background dirt not being able to be deleted if it's loaded on start?
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
  13. Geti

    Geti Please avoid PMing me (poke a mod instead) THD Team Administrator Global Moderator

    Messages:
    3,730
    Nothing other than it being ugly and fairly inflexible.
    There's a field in each tile which controls if there's background dirt there or not, called "dirt"; if it's between 1 and 99 inclusive, the tile is treated as "underground" and when set to tile_empty, it gets replaced by tile_ground_back.
     
  14. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Monkey_Feats updated MapMakerMode with a new update entry:

    MapMakerMode

    Read the rest of this update entry...
    --- Double Post Merged, Jan 6, 2017, Original Post Date: Jan 6, 2017 ---
    It suits me then.
    --- Double Post Merged, Jan 6, 2017 ---
    @Geti I fixed that background dirt problem by making a new tile for dirt, then I realized it solves the next question I had, which was "how to fix the lighting?". Thanks Geti, but now i feel silly :thumbs_up:
     
  15. Geti

    Geti Please avoid PMing me (poke a mod instead) THD Team Administrator Global Moderator

    Messages:
    3,730
    Gave it a look this morning; haven't tried all of it yet, but some suggestions:
    • Raycast/stroke the round brush as it moves, it's really choppy at the moment, especially at far zoom out (due to 30fps and >1 tile movements)
    • The grid would be more useful if it had alpha blending and was visible underground
    • Seeing underground would be pretty useful but I'm not sure how intensive it'd be to overwrite the lighting all the time (probably quite? there's an engine side compile-time lighting mode which keeps everything lit that I could consider re-implementing as a gamemode lighting option?.. dunno if i'd want it available in scripts though)
    • Not sure why the default mode isn't replace all? got confused trying to paint a bedrock layer in when nothing was changing :)
    • Symmetry mode toggle would be excellent considering how everyone wants sym maps for ctf. All you have to do is send another set_tile with the x coord flipped around centre.
    • To fix the tile wrap around on round brush, pass all the set tile stuff into a function that checks bounds before calculating the index. For anything <0 and >tilemapwidth-1, return early.
    And general feedback:
    • Right click to grab tile is really good
    • The menus aren't so bad. The backgrounds are a bit weird but whatever :)
    • Double jump to fly is neat
    • Amazed at all the "extra crap" that's still in the folders. I'd kind of forgotten how much there was.
    • Generally more polished than I was expecting; credit to you, buddy.
     
    FuzzyBlueBaron and Monkey_Feats like this.
  16. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Right click to "Pick"axe, Dammit Geti.
     
    Geti and BarsukEughen555 like this.
  17. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Can you elaborate a little?
     
  18. Geti

    Geti Please avoid PMing me (poke a mod instead) THD Team Administrator Global Moderator

    Messages:
    3,730
    Sure; basically keep a track of the movement that the brush made (ie from x1,y1 to x2,y2) and then use some sort of line tracing algorithm to change all the tiles from one position to the other. This can be as primitive as just normalising the direction vector to the tilesize and then calling whatever function you use to "stamp" a brush out for each position along the line, or you can use more complicated line drawing algorithms.
    Code:
    Vec2f oldpos = /*the position last frame*/
    Vec2f pos = /*the position this frame*/
    
    float x1 = oldpos.x;
    float y1 = oldpos.y;
    float x2 = pos.x;
    float y2 = pos.y;
    
    Vec2f dir(x2-x1, y2-y1);
    float len = dir.Length();
    Vec2f normdir = dir / len;
    Vec2f tiledir = normdir * map.tilesize;
    int steps = Maths::Floor(len / tilesize);
    //cast forward
    for(int i = 0; i < steps; i++)
    {
    	Vec2f raypos = oldpos + (tiledir * i);
    	BrushAt(raypos.x, raypos.y);
    }
    //final stamp
    //(not part of the loop so that
    // -it gets called even if steps == 0
    // -steps cant overshoot due to rounding errors)
    BrushAt(x2, y2);
    
     
  19. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Ooorr, I could just rename the brush to "the stamp brush" and call it a day. :smug:
     
    blackjoker77777 likes this.
  20. Monkey_Feats

    Monkey_Feats Bison Rider Tester

    Messages:
    211
    Monkey_Feats updated MapMakerMode with a new update entry:

    MapMakerMode

    Read the rest of this update entry...
    --- Double Post Merged, Jan 23, 2017, Original Post Date: Jan 23, 2017 ---
    Sorry Geti I can't figure out your advanced logic bs.
     
    8x and BarsukEughen555 like this.